Skip to Content

All 36+ Donna Leon Books In Order [Complete List]

Please Share This Post!

Donna Leon’s very popular Guido Brunetti series has gone on for a long time. Decades, actually, as there are now over 30 books in the series. So, whether or not you’re already a Donna Leon fan, if you want to read this series it can be a bit difficult to figure out exactly how to read these particular Donna Leon books in order.

So I’ve got a complete list for you below.

But before we get to that list, are you already familiar with Donna Leon’s mystery and crime fiction writing?

stack of books on red background with donna leon books in order in white box

Who Is Donna Leon?

Donna Leon is an American author who created the Commissario Guido Brunetti Series of crime fiction mysteries.

She has actually lived and worked in many different countries around the world, but probably has spent the most time in Venice, where she has lived for 30+ years.

Her books are international bestsellers and translated into many languages. Donna Leon has won many awards for her books, including the CWA Macallan Silver Dagger for Fiction award.

Donna Leon Books In Order – Commissario Guido Brunetti Series

This book series is the one that Donna Leon is the most well-known for.

The books are set in Venice, Italy (where Donna Leon has lived for 30 years), and feature the Commissario of Police (police chief) Guido Brunetti.

With the first book in this series having been published in 1992, the series has literally gone on for decades!

The Commissario, Guido Brunetti, is an interesting character. He is depicted as a humble man who lives with his wife Paola who is a specialist in American literature. The types of crimes that Guido Brunetti investigates are high-profile, big-city types of crimes that involve things like art crimes, corruption, or crimes involving the Church.

These books are focused more on Guido Brunetti trying to understand the motivation behind why the crimes are committed than on the gory details of the crime itself.

March 14, 2023

Commissario Guido Brunetti – Non-Fiction

You might be wondering how there can be a non-fiction book about the fictional character Commissario Guido Brunetti!

That’s a great question, indeed.

Well, first of all, because this is a non-fiction book, it doesn’t really need to be in the Donna Leon books in order for the Guido Brunetti series because it’s not a full novel, nor is it a mystery or crime fiction book.

If you’ve already read the Guido Brunetti series, you’ll know that Paola Brunetti (Guido’s wife) cooks delicious meals for her family. Food plays an important part in many Italian families, and such is certainly the case with the fictional Brunetti family.

Donna Leon has put together this book of culinary stories, along with recipes by Roberta Pianaro so that we can enjoy delicious meals similar to what the Brunetti’s enjoy in the book series.

How fun is that?

Donna Leon Books In Order – Standalone Novels

Donna Leon Books In Order – Other Non-Fiction

Do Donna Leon Books Need To Be Read In Order?

In order to get the most enjoyment out of the Commissario Guido Brunetti series, it’s recommended that you read them in the order of publication shown in the above list.

You could read them in a different order, and you would certainly still get a resolution for the mystery contained within that single book. However, there is character progression from book to book, and over the course of the entire series, you will definitely miss some details if you read them out of order.

Donna Leon Books In Order – Conclusion

Donna Leon’s crime fiction Commissario Guido Brunetti series is a great mystery series for fans of fascinating crime fiction set in interesting places. The Venetian setting of these books is a wonderful backdrop to the investigations that Guido Brunetti gets involved with.

Although you could skip around and read them out of order, it’s recommended that you read the Guido Brunetti books in the order of publication.  And there are a lot of them!  Over 30 so far since the first was published back in 1992.  So, this complete list of Donna Leon books in order will help you sort out the correct order to load up your library shelves with.

Just in case you prefer to listen to your mystery books rather than read them, here’s a little something for you.

Try Audible Free For 30 Days & Get Your First Audiobook Free!

If this is your first visit to Looks Like Books, check out our About page so you can learn a little more about me and my Looks Like Books mission.

More In Mystery/Thriller/Suspense:

Please Share This Post!