Skip to Content

All 20+ Louise Penny Books in Order

Please Share This Post!

You most definitely need this list of Louise Penny books in order if you’re a fan of her well-known character, Inspector Gamache.

After all, there are quite a few books in the Inspector Gamache series, and it’s best to read them in order.

But many people don’t realize that Louise Penny recently co-authored a novel that is not part of the Inspector Gamache series. And it’s an absolute blockbuster if you like international thrillers! More on that in a bit.

Louise Penny Books In Order of Publication

louise penny books in order

Are you already familiar with author Louise Penny?

If not, allow me to introduce you!

Louise Penny is the New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Gamache mysteries, which as of right now is a series of 17 novels and 1 novella. The 18th novel is expected to be published on November 29, 2022.

The Inspector Gamache mystery books are set in a small village in Canada, and the author’s late husband was the inspiration for the lead character, Inspector Armand Gamache. I think that’s kind of a nice fact to know 🙂

Louise Penny started her writing career rather late in life – well into her 40s it seems. And before that, she was a journalist with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

She created the fictional village of Three Pines for the Inspector Gamache series, and the rest, as they say, is history! 18 full-length novels and a novella later and the village of Three Pines and Inspector Gamache are still going.

So here is the list of Louise Penny books in order that you’ve been waiting for, but guess what? This list is only a list of Inspector Gamache mysteries in order. You may not know that Louise Penny wrote another book that is not part of that series. You can learn everything you need to know about that book under the Inspector Gamache list below.

Louise Penny Books In Order – Inspector Gamache Series

How Many Books Are In the Three Pines Series?

The “Three Pines” series is a name that is sometimes used to refer to the Inspector Gamache mystery series.

All of the books mentioned on the above list of Louise Penny books in order – Inspector Gamache series are part of what is sometimes referred to as the “Three Pines” series. These books are set in the fictional village of Three Pines.

Which Louise Penny Book Should I Read First?

If you are planning to read the Inspector Gamache series, then you should start with book #1 of that series which is Still Life, published in 2005. It’s best to read the books in this series in the order of publication.

Louise Penny Books In Order – Standalone Novels

And now for the book written by Louise Penny that is not part of the Inspector Gamache series.

It’s too soon to know whether this will turn into a series of some sort, or whether there will be any more standalone novels like this one.

State of Terror was co-authored by Louise Penny and former U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton.

What I find interesting about this collaboration between Louise Penny and Secretary Clinton is that each woman, certainly a powerhouse in her own way, was afraid to take on the writing of this book!

Louise Penny said she had never written a political thriller and she was nervous about the outcome of trying to make that happen.

Hillary Clinton said she had never written fiction, only nonfiction, and that she didn’t want to harm the friendship in any way that she had with Louise Penny, and that she also was nervous about the outcome of writing fiction, having never done it before.

They were interviewed jointly by Gayle King on CBS news today, and you can catch the interview here if you’re interested. I found it immensely interesting because I like to know how books come about. What makes the author make the decision to write the book? And although it’s now been some months since I read State of Terror, I have wondered how these two ladies got together on this project. Now I know.

Don’t miss our review of State of Terror.

Summary – Louise Penny Books In Order

I hope this list of Louise Penny books in order provides you with all the information you need to start reading the books of this terrific author, Louise Penny.

You can check out all the books published by Louise Penny here on Amazon’s Louise Penny author page.

Just in case you prefer listening to your books rather than reading them, here’s something special for you.

Try Audible Free For 30 Days & Get Your First Audiobook Free!

Is this your first visit to Looks Like Books? If so, be sure and check out our About page so you can learn a little more about the Looks Like Books mission. 

In the Mood For More Mystery? Try These:

Please Share This Post!


Thursday 1st of June 2023

Wonderful information. Just introduced to Louise Penny books with a 76 yr birthday gift : the 2022 book titled "BOOK of CURIOSITIES " . my 70's and 80's can now be assured of some wonderful adventures with familiar characters . Thank you 😊 ❤ Dona , Calgary Canada. MAY 31

Mary Emmer

Thursday 1st of June 2023

Well, Happy Birthday, Dona! I hope you enjoy the book :)