Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order [Complete List]

LLB is part of the Amazon Associates affiliate program, as well as other affiliate programs. If you click & purchase with one of our links, we may earn a commission. See our disclosure.

Please Share This Post!

Last Updated on November 30, 2022 by Mary Elle

If you love historical fiction, you may already be a fan of Maisie Dobbs! Here’s a complete list of Jacqueline Winspear books in order including the entire Maisie Dobbs series, so that you won’t miss anything.

If you’re not yet a fan of Maisie Dobbs, or aren’t even familiar with author Jacqueline Winspear, then you’re in for a treat.

I’ve put together this list for you so that you can either continue on with wherever you left off on the Maisie Dobbs series, or start fresh if you’re not yet familiar with any of these books.

Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order

clipart stack of books on red background with white box that says jacqueline winspear books in order


Jacqueline Winspear is a New York Times bestselling British author who grew up in a small village in Kent, England, and currently resides in the United States. She was educated in the United Kingdom, and, although she was a graduate of London’s Institute of Education, the market for teaching jobs at that time was not good so instead, Jacqueline became a flight attendant.

She continued on in a number of different careers including academic publishing and marketing communications. She emigrated to the United States in 1990 and worked in various business positions in the U.S. Eventually, Jacqueline acted on her life-long dream of becoming a writer and became a regular contributor to journals covering international education and travel.

Her articles have appeared in the Washington Post, the Huffington Post, and the Daily Beast as well as other publications. She has also written short stories that have appeared in a number of different publications and anthologies.

It was her own family history, however, that sparked the urge to write the historical mystery Maisie Dobbs series. Jacqueline Winspear’s grandfather was severely wounded and shell-shocked at the Battle of Somme in 1916, and as she learned more about this family history she became interested in learning more about this war and eventually wrote the Maisie Dobbs series, a historical mystery series set in post-WWI London and featuring Maisie Dobbs who is a psychologist and private investigator.

Here are all the Jacqueline Winspear books in order of publication, and I’ve separated out the Maisie Dobbs series from the standalone books and non-fiction ones.

Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order – Standalones

Most of the novels written by Jacqueline Winspear are part of the fabulous Maisie Dobbs series. As of right now, she has only written two standalone novels, one of which is expected to be published in March 2023.

Here are the standalone novels:

Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order – Maisie Dobbs

Maisie Dobbs is, without a doubt, Jacqueline Winspear’s most famous and well-known character. Most of the books she has written are part of the Maisie Dobbs series.

Maisie Dobbs may have started out as a maid in an aristocratic London household when she was only 13 years old, but it’s amazing where she went after that! She was taken under the wing of her suffragette employer and eventually came to the attention of an investigator often used by the European elite. He recognized Maisie’s intuitive gifts and helped her gain admission to a prestigious college where she planned to complete her education.

But then the war happened and completely changed the direction that Maisie was planning to go in. She trained as a nurse and before she knew it, she was off to serve at the front in France. As you can imagine, that experience had some effect on Maisie.

That’s Maisie’s background, but the story really starts for us after the war years. It’s post-WWI Britain and Maisie Dobbs has set out on her own as a private investigator. The rest of the story? You’ll have to read the series to find out!

Here is Maisie Dobbs in order:

Is It Important To Read Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order?

In my opinion, it’s best to read the Maisie Dobbs books in the order of publication.

You will get the most enjoyment out of the Maisie Dobbs character if you read the books in order because each book loosely builds upon the previous ones. The reader will learn new things about Maisie Dobbs in each consecutive book.

In addition to the Maisie Dobbs series and the standalone novels listed above, Jacqueline Winspear wrote a few non-fiction books and participated in some anthologies, and those books can be read in any order, as they are not connected to one another.

Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order – Non-Fiction

If you’re a bit confused by the first book in this section, I’m not surprised. After all, Maisie Dobbs is a fictional character, isn’t she?

If so, then how can there be a non-fiction book like What Would Maisie Do? I have no idea! You’ll have to check it out for yourself 🙂


Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order – Anthologies

What Should I Read If I Like Maisie Dobbs?

If you already love the Maisie Dobbs series and are looking for something similar to read, here are a few suggestions:

Jacqueline Winspear Books In Order – Conclusion

I hope this complete list of Jacqueline Winspear books in order motivates you to read the entire Maisie Dobbs series…..in order!

If you enjoy historical fiction, especially historical mysteries, I think you may really enjoy finding out what Maisie is up to 🙂

Related Posts In Mystery/Thriller/Suspense:

Do you prefer to listen rather than read?

If so, here’s a nice opportunity to try Audible free for 30 days.

Try Audible Free For 30 Days & Get Your First Audiobook Free!

If this is your first visit to Looks Like Books, check out our About page so you can learn a little more about the Looks Like Books mission.


Please Share This Post!

Leave a Comment