Rhys Bowen’s Royal Spyness Series In Order (With Printable List)

Looks Like Books contains affiliate links and is a member of the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. If you make a purchase using one of these affiliate links I may receive compensation at no extra cost to you. See my Disclaimer to learn more.

Author Rhys Bowen’s latest in the Royal Spyness series was just published, and this book is #17 in this hilarious, heartwarming series.

If you’ve been reading this series from the beginning then you can jump right into #17, titled The Proof Of the Pudding. But, if you’re new to the antics of Lady Georgiana and the rest of the characters in the Royal Spyness mystery books, you must read them in order from the very beginning!

This post has the entire Her Royal Spyness series in order so you don’t miss out on anything.

Royal Spyness Series In Order Of Publication

  1. Her Royal Spyness – 2007
  2. A Royal Pain – 2008
  3. Royal Flush – 2009
  4. Royal Blood 2010
  5. Naughty In Nice – 2011
  6. The Twelve Clues Of Christmas – 2012
  7. Heirs and Graces – 2013
  8. Queen Of Hearts – 2014
  9. Malice At the Palace – 2015
  10. Crowned and Dangerous – 2016
  11. On Her Majesty’s Frightfully Secret Service – 2017
  12. Four Funerals and Maybe A Wedding – 2018
  13. Love and Death Among the Cheetahs – 2019
  14. The Last Mrs. Summers – 2020
  15. God Rest Ye, Royal Gentlemen – 2021
  16. Peril In Paris – 2022
  17. The Proof Of the Pudding – 2023

Her Royal Spyness – 2007

A Royal Pain – 2008

Royal Flush – 2009

Royal Blood – 2010

Naughty In Nice – 2011

The Twelve Clues Of Christmas – 2012

Heirs and Graces – 2013

Queen Of Hearts – 2014

Malice At the Palace – 2015

Crowned and Dangerous – 2016

On Her Majesty’s Frightfully Secret Service – 2017

Four Funerals and Maybe A Wedding – 2018

Love and Death Among the Cheetahs – 2019

The Last Mrs. Summers – 2020

Peril In Paris – 2022

Who Is Rhys Bowen?

Rhys Bowen is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 40 books which include both standalone historical fiction as well as two historical fiction mystery series.

If you’re at all familiar with this author, then you probably already know that she writes both standalone historical fiction books as well as two very popular historical fiction mystery series.

But, did you know that Rhys Bowen is not her real name?

Well here is a fun fact about Rhys Bowen. Her real name is actually Janet Quin-Harkin. Although she writes under the name Rhys Bowen now, she started writing in the early 1980s under her real name Janet Quin-Harkin. It wasn’t until the 1990s that she began writing mystery novels under the name Rhys Bowen.

Born in Bath, England, and educated at London University, Rhys now resides in the United States where she divides her time between California and Arizona.

She has been nominated for and won many major mystery writing awards for her books which are translated into twenty-two different languages.

What Genre Is Rhys Bowen Best Known For?

Rhys Bowen is best known for historical fiction and historical fiction mysteries.

She has written five standalone novels, along with two mystery series called the Royal Spyness Mysteries and the Molly Murphy Mysteries.

Her mystery series are quite different from one another. The Molly Murphy mysteries feature an Irish immigrant woman in turn-of-the-century New York. The Royal Spyness mysteries feature Lady Georgiana Rannoch who is 35th in line to the throne of England and is flat broke. Her antics are much lighter and funnier than whatever you’ll find Molly Murphy up to in New York.

Other Rhys Bowen Book Series

Rhys Bowen currently writes one other mystery book series called the Molly Murphy series.

In addition, she wrote an earlier series called the Evan Evans series from 1997 to 2006.

Do You Need To Read Rhys Bowen Books In Order?

Rhys Bowen has written five standalone historical fiction books since 2017. There is no particular order in which you need to read those standalone books since they are not related to each other in any way.

Rhys Bowen also writes two historical fiction mystery series. One of them is the Her Royal Spyness series and the other is the Molly Murphy series. These two series should definitely be read in order of publication if at all possible.

Rhys also wrote an earlier series of books from 1997 through 2006 called the Evan Evans series. This being a series, these books should also be read in order if possible.

Here’s a complete list of all the Rhys Bowen books in order.

I hope you found everything you were looking for on this list of Her Royal Spyness books in order. If you love a fun cozy mystery and haven’t yet met Lady Georgie in the Royal Spyness books, I highly suggest you introduce yourself to her soon 🙂

How many Royal Spyness books will there be?

Great question! The author has not named a specific number of books for this series, so I hope that she keeps writing the Royal Spyness books for a long time to come.

Do you have to read the Royal Spyness series in order?

In my opinion, yes! While the main mystery of each Royal Spyness novel will be solved upon the conclusion of that specific book, the books build upon one another with character development and setting.

So, it’s important to read the Royal Spyness series in order of publication.

Is Rhys Bowen still writing?

Yes, thank goodness! She has two new books coming out in 2023 alone. One is the 17th Royal Spyness mystery titled The Proof of the Pudding, and the other is a standalone novel titled The Paris Assignment.

What should I read if I like Rhys Bowen?

If you enjoyed the Royal Spyness series, try the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear, or the Agatha Raisin series by MC Beaton.

When is the next Royal Spyness book coming out?

As of this writing, the next Royal Spyness mystery that we know about will be published November, 2023.

royal spyness series

Printable Booklist of Rhys Bowen Royal Spyness Mysteries

Is this your first visit to Looks Like Books? If so, check out my About page so you can learn a little more about me and my Looks Like Books mission.

Looking For More Mysteries? Try These:

Please Share This Post!

Similar Posts